‘murica.

Land of the free, home of the dollar menu. Who doesn’t love ‘murica?

Nearly a month ago, my brother-in-law graduated from Marine Officer Candidate school. Nearly a month ago, I also said I would post pictures of said graduation. Today, I will do as I say. I am seriously making a habit of blog procrastination. And I don’t like it. Ch-ch-ch-changes need to be made!

Saying I am proud of this kid is the understatement of the year. Homeboy is so impressive. He endured 10 weeks of brutal, exhausting, body-annihilating Marine training and came out a champ. If I could give him a gold star, I would. But they gave him one of these instead.

In addition, I think they gave him a pat on the back. The Marines are so cordial.

The weekend was filled with lots of hugging, crying, laughing, and road-tripping. 12 hours there, 14-15 hours back…you cannot keep a Wisconsin family away from a Cabela’s even if you tried. And that’s just what we did. Let’s not mention that I was the only one who almost bought something…

We were lucky to beat the VA earthquake and Ms. Irene to watch my broham graduate. And, a month later, I’m still beaming.

This has nothing to do with Clint’s graduation. But doesn’t he look like he could be on a farm? He’s not. That’s an armory behind him. ‘murica.

After watching Clint be all classy in his uniform and what not, we ventured to where it all began…the home of George Washington. It was both enlightening and nostalgic. The last time I visited there, I was an overly emotional, petty 17-year-old on a class trip. This time was much less crisis-enriched.

Clearly the fashion trends haven’t changed much.

The Armstrongs, led by our fearless leader, always have the most confident directional skills.

Our new home!

Complete with the 2nd ammendment!

And failed baking attempts. I think the Pioneer Woman would be proud.

It’s a wonderful thing to be a part of the Armstrong family. Can’t wait for many more years memories with them.

4 thoughts on “‘murica.

  1. Wow! Great pictures. What a wonderful event in the Armstrongs’ lives. Thanks for sharing that moment with all of us. Beautiful. Makes me proud to be an ‘murican.

  2. Great pics…brings back memories (of my daughters AF graduation in San Antonio – except I like to suppress the memory of Judy trying to murder me with tainted turkey…). I love the family interaction…it is awesome…go Armstrongs!!! As for the cookies – they looked plenty edible to me, no failure appearing to me there!! Blessings…Marv

  3. Pingback: birthweek. « TheStrongOnes

  4. Pingback: husband-less valentine’s day. | TheStrongOnes

Leave a Reply

